Runa Tea Review

Posted on Updated on

runa tea pic from web

I was first introduced to Runa tea when I received a sample of the traditional guayusa (pronounced gwhy-you-sa), tea in the mail. I am not an avid tea drinker but I do love trying new products. While I was steeping the tea bag, I read the back of the tea packet and became intrigued by the way the company originated as well as where the tea leaves are grown. I find it fascinating that guayusa tree leaves are found naturally, in the Amazon and the natives have been brewing them for thousands of years to stay awake and alert. According to Runa’s website, guayusa has almost as much caffeine as instant coffee with 90 mg. So I can see why the leaves would be essential to the natives survival.

I love that it is organic and that it has fair trade certified ingredients. This means that the farmers who grow the leaves are adequately compensated for their endeavors. Consequently, this can help disadvantaged communities improve their standard of living.

My husband has been looking for an alternative to drinking caffeinated beverages to keep up with his busy schedule. I thought this might be the perfect solution to his dilemma. After drinking the initial sample, I was interested in tasting more flavors and writing a review. I contacted Runa tea and they agreed to send Jen and I additional flavors. Here are the 4 different flavors they sent us.

20130309_185808

Jennifer couldn’t decide if she liked the cinnamon-lemongrass or the mint better but really enjoyed all 4 flavors. My favorite was the cinnamon-lemongrass. I tend to like anything with cinnamon in it and this was no exception. The other flavors include mint, ginger-citrus and traditional guayusa and I enjoyed them as well. What I liked best about all 4 flavors is that they all had a nice after taste. I can only describe it as a fresh, “zingy” feeling.

All in all, we were really pleased with the tea and I will definitively be looking for the tea bags at a local retailer.

Click here to find out where you can purchase Runa tea products, which include tea bags, loose leaves and tea bottles. You can also read how the Runa tea company started and  how the Amazonian natives cultivate the leaves.

The opinions expressed in this post are solely of our own. We are not compensated in any way by Runa tea other than receiving the free samples.

**Some photos were taken from Runa’s press kit

faq-hibiscus

2 thoughts on “Runa Tea Review

    socialshan said:
    March 26, 2013 at 4:36 pm

    I definitely want to try the cinnamon lemongrass, that sounds so warm and comforting.

      Rachel responded:
      March 26, 2013 at 11:01 pm

      🙂 And with a kick of caffeine.

Feedback:

