Treating sunburn the Frugal way

Posted on Updated on

On Saturday March 30, 2013 at around 11:00 am, I set out for a beach adventure with an old friend visiting from out of town. As I packed my beach bag, I grabbed my towel, two bottles of water, extra clothes (because I’m ALWAYS COLD) and a snack. As I set out on this adventure, I stepped outside my door the sky was hazy, the clouds filled the sky and it didn’t seem like it was going to be the best day for getting a suntan, it seemed like it may rain. BOY WAS I WRONG!!!

Growing up, my siblings and I have always been the kind of kids to play outside, riding bikes, climbing trees, trekking through the woods, swimming, and one awesome week at Camp Fitch on Lake Erie (the best days of my life). I’ve always been the kind of person that would burn the first tan of the summer then I was home free the rest of the summer months and NEVER had to wear much sun block either. Living in Florida the sun rays are much stronger no matter if the clouds fill the sky and block the sun, the sun rays are much stronger on a cloudy day then a day the that’s clear and cloud free. I was at the beach from 11am to 4pm and I got the WORSE SUNBURN EVER!

I didn’t realize how bad my sunburn was until I actually got home and was in the house for a short 10-15 minutes (I guess that’s what happens when you fall asleep while laying on the beach and when you don’t slap on the ole’ sunblock). Let’s just say I couldn’t sit down, bend over, or sleep on my back! As you can see from the pictures below my sunburn was fairly severe, and I believe I had a touch of sun poisoning on the front bottom half of my legs!

20130410-145518.jpg

20130410-145619.jpg

20130410-145649.jpg

Everyone knows that the best way to treat sunburn is by rubbing aloe on it, but in my case I have an allergy to aloe so instead I set out on a week long journey (well, Monday- Friday) trying a different remedy everyday so here is what I did:

Day 1: I used Walgreen’s brand oatmeal bath soak, I personally found that the oatmeal soak didn’t mix well with my sunburned skin and it caused me to itch worse then before I took the bath. I washed up with dove unscented soap and on my face I used Noxzema, it stung like crazy at first but made my sunburned face feel soothed.

Day 2: I soaked in baking soda. Believe it or not the baking soda soothed the itching and burning. On my face I used Noxzema again, not only did I use it during my bath but I put it on my face like a mask and slept that way.

Day 3 and Day 4: I took Noxzema and rubbed it on my face and legs, repeating as it dried and soaked into my skin.

Day 5: I used Noxzema on my face and washed up with dove unscented bar soap for sensitive skin.

photo(15)photo(22)photo(19)photo(14)

The pictures above are of myself trying out my home remedy’s, I actually had a lot of fun trying new things. I learned that no matter what, you should always take the proper precautions to protect yourself from overexposure to the sun. Every part of my body that was sunburned has peeled, now I look like a spotted leopard.

**All of the opinion’s expressed is this post are based solely on my own personal opinion**

**Don’t forget to subscribe via e-mail and follow us on Facebook and never miss another post**

Feedback:

