Giving the Dining Room a Face Lift

Posted on Updated on

What have you been doing this Memorial Day weekend? I have been getting into mischief of my own…

We moved into our house 6 years ago. I have always hated the carpet, especially in the dining room and living room.

IMG_2578[1]

Need I say more? I am sure back when it was installed, it was top of the line, etc. But why that color?

I was suppose to get it replaced last Mother’s Day. Eh hmmm, not sure what happened there. So this Mother’s Day I was hell bent on making a move on this project. This past Friday, I talked my husband into tearing up the carpet in the dining room. It actually did not take must persuasion, surprisingly. (I drive him nuts with my crazy ideas.) I think he was curious, just like myself, to see what the hard wood floors looked like underneath. Glad we didn’t get our hopes up.

IMG_2579[1]

The padding was so shot that it was actually matted to the floor boards. I’m pretty sure this is not normal. It wasn’t easy to take up and required some elbow grease with a scraper, Murphy’s Oil soap, and warm water. 

IMG_2581[1]

My husband removing the tack board and staples. Yes, staples were used to hold the carpet padding in place?? Look at those beautiful floor boards.

IMG_2582[1]

Ahh, yes just as we suspected. The outer edge of the room was laid out with hearty wood floor boards. The inner portion consists of some weaker type of wood. Pine, perhaps, and not very durable. I look at all the scratches and wonder how they happened. Oh, the history of it all. I know I am weird. lol

IMG_2583[1]

We have learned with a house built in the 1920’s, you never know what kind of surprises will turn up like these little gems.  A hidden treasure box filled with old bills and coins? Not so fast. I suspect an old floor heat vent was the culprit for this cut out. 

Our next plan of action is to call around for some estimates on either restoring the outer edge and replacing the inner or just replacing everything. If it is way out of our price range then we will settle for carpet or an area rug and work on getting wood floors at another point in time.

dining room blue prints 001

Here is a blue print of my ideas for the dining room.  The plan is to make roman shades, build a bench with storage, paint a dresser, hutch and desk, and distress a ladder to use as a plant stand. I have never striped a piece of furniture before. This should be interesting. 

I always seem to start projects but do not finish them right away. My intent is to finish one room, my dining room, before starting another project. If I blog about it, it may just give me the motivation I need to finish what i started! Many updates to follow…

2 thoughts on “Giving the Dining Room a Face Lift

    debbie said:
    May 27, 2013 at 1:20 pm

    You go girl I know you can do it and it will be beautiful when finished.

    Rachel responded:
    May 27, 2013 at 1:55 pm

    Thanks Momma. I need all the motivation I can get 🙂

Feedback:

