Roasted Pumpkin Spice Seeds Recipe

Posted on Updated on

pumpkin collage

1. My husband cutting the top off of the smaller pumpkin. 2. My son scooping out pumpkin seeds. 3. What my son thinks about carving pumpkins. 4. Our final creations. The pumpkin on the left was created using the free stencils I received in the mail from Fiora. My husband let our son pick and choose which eyes, nose, and mouth he wanted. The stencil for creating a Mickey Mouse face can be found here.

Once we were done carving the pumpkins, we roasted the seeds in the oven. I found a pumpkin spice recipe on Pinterest over at Mike’s Baking that turned out to be very delicious.

NOTE: I had pictures of the steps I took in preparing the seeds but I accidentally erased them from my camera. GRR! I’ll try to make some more and add photos later.

Ingredients:

2 cups of raw pumpkin seeds, dried.

1/3 cup butter, melted

1/3 cup brown sugar

2 tsp of pumpkin spice

Instructions:

1. Preheat the oven to 300 degrees

2. Toss all ingredients together until all seeds are thoroughly coated

3. Lay them out in an even layer on a baking sheet

4. Roast for 45 minutes to 1 hour, turning them every 15 minutes.

They are done roasting when the seeds are dried and they have a nice golden glow to them. Don’t be afraid to taste test them. Just don’t eat them all before they come out of the oven. πŸ™‚

**Note that Mike is from the UK and works with Celsius so if you go by his recipe, you need to convert the oven temperature to Fahrenheit. I speak from experience. πŸ˜› He also uses several spices that when used together create pumpkin spice. I just so happened to have it on hand so I just used one spice. You can pick up pumpkin spice for under $2.00 a bottle at your local Aldi grocery store during the Thanksgiving holiday season.

I also cut the recipe in half because my 2 pumpkins only yielded a little under 1 cup of seeds. Darn, I wish I had more to roast!

Feedback:

