Ideas on How to Create a Cheap but Memorable Halloween Costume

Posted on Updated on

cowboy costume

If you don’t find yourself to be the most creative person, like myself. Not wanting to create a costume from scratch, but also do not want to go to the Halloween store and spend a lot of money on a costume, here are a few tips.

Plan ahead when piecing a costume together. A year ahead of time to be exact. Look for deals on costumes after Halloween is over. Stores typically take 50% off right away and then increase markdowns up to 90% off over the course of a few weeks afterwards.

Keep in mind that pre-packaged costumes at the store are kind of generic, made with cheap materials that are fabricated in mass production. You can help hide this fact by adding fun accessories. Look around your house for items you can add to your costume or borrow them from someone who you know has what you need to complete that spooky look. Still coming up short? Try your local thrift stores and consignment shops but start looking as early as possible. You’ll take the pressure off yourself plus you won’t be competing with other shoppers in finding that right piece.

Here is what I did for my son this Halloween. I picked up the base of the cowboy costume (the vest, chaps and hat) last year at Walmart for only $3.00. I bought the long sleeved shirt at Once Upon a Child for $2.80. It was originally $3.50 but I had a coupon for 20% of entire purchase. I bought my son a winter coat as well. I picked up the boots for $2.00 at Village Discount Outlet. They are the Cherokee brand sold at Target. The horse was a hand-me-down toy my son received from his Great Aunt and the hanky was borrowed from my father. Clean of course! All for under $8.00. You can’t beat that.

I have a feeling “Woody” will be watching Toy Story a few more times before this year is over. 😉

2 thoughts on “Ideas on How to Create a Cheap but Memorable Halloween Costume

    Justismith said:
    October 30, 2013 at 6:37 pm

    How adorable! Awesome job!

      Rachel responded:
      October 31, 2013 at 2:03 pm

      Thank You Justine!

Feedback:

