How to Remove Water Stains from Cabinets

Posted on Updated on

remove water stains

I have been trying to figure out how I can remove water stains from the front of my kitchen cabinets for some time now. I have tried Mr. Clean Magic Erasers, baking soda mixed with water, wood cleaners, like Murphy’s Oil soap and Milsek. None of these seemed to do the trick so I went on Pinterest to see if I could find another way to go about this.

I was happy to find one lonely “pin” via Info Barrel, that stated you can mix baking soda with petroleum jelly. And let me tell you that it works!

Here is what you do:

Take a little bit of baking soda and mix it with some petroleum jelly. Then you simply rub the mixture over the water stain. Let it set for a few minutes and then wipe away with a clean, dry cloth.

I recommend using disposable gloves when mixing the 2 together and then when you apply it to the cabinets because the jelly can be quite messy. I found it to be easiest if I pour a little bit of baking soda in a bowl, dip my finger in the petroleum jelly and then dip it into the baking soda, mixing the 2 products together.

Here is the before…

side of counter water stains

And here is the after….

IMG_3501

I’m pretty pleased with the results!

2 thoughts on “How to Remove Water Stains from Cabinets

    Lisa Stevens said:
    November 24, 2013 at 8:53 am

    Great idea – I will have to file that one away for when I clean the kitchen!

      Rachel responded:
      November 25, 2013 at 9:20 am

      Thanks Lisa. It is the power of Pinterest and baking soda! lol

Feedback:

