OxiClean 2in1 Stain Fighter Review

Posted on Updated on

If you look at my son’s shirt sleeves, he uses them as sort of a road map to explain where he has been throughout the day. Napkins are optional in his book and if he does remember not to wipe his mouth with an article of his clothing, he has the inclination to wipe his fingers in his hair!

So none the less, when I was accepted into the OxiClean 2in1 Stain Fighter mission through Smiley360, I was pretty excited. Removing stains from clothes is something I definitely contend with on a weekly basis. I currently use Dawn dish soap as a stain fighter. I just dab a little bit on each stain, rub it in and then toss the clothes in the washing machine. It tends to do the trick 95% of the time. But what about that other 5%? Would OxiClean 2in1 stand up to the test?

I picked up a free bottle of the Fresh Scent OxiClean 2in1 Stain Fighter at my local Walmart per the mission instructions. It runs $8.xx for a 66 oz. bottle. A lot more than what I typically pay for stain remover since a 9 oz. bottle of Dawn dish soap with sales and coupons runs me about $0.50.

IMG_3127

Exhibit A: The sleeves of my son’s shirt before I pretreated and washed them

IMG_3446

The shirt after I pretreated the sleeves and machine washed them with OxiClean 2in1 Stain Fighter. 

I am pretty impressed with the results. Every stain came out except for a small dot on the cuff.

I decided to test OxiClean out on more stains.

IMG_3454

Pretreating the fabric with OxiClean 2in1 Stain Fighter

The directions suggest pretreating the stains with the 2in1 and then also adding some to your detergent. I noticed the first shirt I washed had a pleasant fragrance. I wanted to see if this had to do with the OxiClean so with the second shirt, I eliminated the fabric softener and used fragrant free detergent.

IMG_3456

I mixed the OxiClean with Purex Free & Clear which is 100% free of perfumes and dyes

And the results are….

before and after gap

Most of the stains remained and some got a little bit lighter. I did dig the smell of the shirt though. Remember I washed it with just the OxiClean and fragrant free detergent and I skipped on the fabric softener. It is a subtle smell but that is how I like my clothes anyways.

Next I am going to take Dawn dish soap and see if I can get the stains out. I hope I can because I really like this shirt.

IMG_3469

After the dawn

The results after I pretreated with Dawn

It looks like once I pretreated with Dawn, most of the stains came out. I can still see very faint spots. I’ll probably wash this shirt one more time with Dawn and see what happens.

And to be fair I am going to pretreat and wash another stained up shirt with the OxiClean because we all know some stains are easier to remove than others.

stain shirt airplane

So the stain has become less visible after washing but it is still there!

Even though, I do like that OxiClean 2in1 Stain Fighter removed most of the stains and has a nice smell, overall, I think that Dawn dish soap works just as well if not better. It also costs a fraction of the price. I didn’t care for the pretreating step in removing the stains with OxiClean. There is not a good way to transfer the liquid from the bottle onto the clothing. Dumping the liquid into the cap and then from there dumping it onto the clothing is messy business. The product is a liquid so it doesn’t soak immediately into the fabric. It rather glides across it, making it a little more difficult to control where the liquid lands.

Have you used this product? What are your thoughts?

**Note: OxiClean 2in1 Stain Fighter claims that it brightens clothes as well. I did not test this claim because I feel in order to judge this statement properly I would need two, brand new, identical articles of clothing. I don’t have anything like this on hand so I can not attest to their claims about preserving colors of fabrics.

Feedback:

